Executive office

As a national authority, ANSSI reports to the General Secretary for Defence and National Security (SGDSN). SGDSN assists the Prime Minister in fulfilling his responsibilities in terms of national defence and security.

ANSSI’s Executive Office is composed of a Director General appointed by Decree from the Prime Minister, and a Deputy Director General, both of whom are assisted by a Chief of Staff and a Head of Cabinet.

Guillaume Poupard

Director General

Portrait de Guillaume Poupard

Dr. Guillaume Poupard graduated from École polytechnique, class of ’92. Having completed a research degree in armament engineering, he started as a PhD candidate in cryptography under the supervision of Jacques Stern at the École normale supérieure in Paris, and became doctor in 2000. He also holds a university diploma in psychology.

He began his career as a cryptography expert and later became head of the cryptography laboratory at the Central Network and Information Security Directorate (Direction centrale de la sécurité des systèmes d’information – DCSSI) which formed in 2009 the basis of the National Cybersecurity Agency of France (Agence nationale de la sécurité des systèmes d’information – ANSSI).

In 2006, he joined the Ministry of Defence, continuing in the field of government cryptography and progressively moved to cybersecurity. In November 2010, he was appointed Head of the Cybersecurity Division within the Technical Branch of the National Defence Procurement Agency (Direction générale de l’armement – DGA), responsible for expertise and technology policy in the field of cybersecurity. On 27 March 2014, he was appointed Director General of the National Cybersecurity Agency of France. He is married with three children.

Emmanuel Germain

Deputy to the Director General

Portrait de Emmanuel Germain

Col. Emmanuel Germain graduated from Saint-Cyr military academy, with a master degree in engineering. He holds a PhD in public law and a MBA from the business school HEC. As a Marine Corps officer, he spent most of his career in military operations, in France and abroad where he held command responsibilities.

He also served the Ministry of Overseas Territories, seconded to the prefecture in Mayotte from 2003 to 2006. In 2014, he attended the NATO Defense College (NDC) in Rome and held operational responsibilities within the French Armed Forces General Staff.

On 1st November 2016, he was appointed Deputy to the Director General of the National Cybersecurity Agency of France.

Yann Bonnet

Chief of Staff

Portrait de Yann Bonnet

An engineer by training, Yann Bonnet began his career as a consultant. He joined the French Digital Council in 2013 as General Rapporteur, before becoming Secretary General in 2015.

He was in charge of steering the national consultation on digital transformations, which was launched by the Prime Minister in 2014. This initiative eventually led to the Law for a Digital Republic. In 2017, he assisted Cedric Villani in his mission on artificial intelligence entrusted by the Prime Minister.

He joined ANSSI in September 2018 as Chief of Staff.

Charly Berthet

Advisor to the Director General

Portrait de Charly Berthet

Charly Berthet is a lawyer who graduated from University Paris II Pantheon-Assas and Paris Dauphine University. Before joining ANSSI as Advisor to the Director General in October 2018, he was the head of legal and institutional affairs at the French Digital Council.

At the Council, he worked specifically on regulation and data protection issues. Charly Berthet has also been a consultant for the ministry of Europe and foreign affairs on international digital policies. In 2017, he was a rapporteur for Cedric Villani’s mission on artificial intelligence.

Anouck Teiller

Head of the Cabinet

Portrait de Anouck Teiller

A graduate of Sciences Po Paris where she studied international relations and focused on new technologies, she previously worked on digital issues within the French administration and in the private sector. Anouck Teiller joined ANSSI as head of the cabinet in November 2018.