

PREMIER MINISTRE

Secrétariat général de la défense nationale

Direction centrale de la sécurité des systèmes d'information

Maintenance Report DCSSI-2007/24-M01

E-passport (MRTD) configuration of the Xaica-Alpha64K platform embedded on the ST19WR66I secure microcontroller

Reference Certificate: 2007/24

Courtesy Translation

Paris, 29th of May 2008



References

- a) Assurance continuity procedure MAI/P/01.
- b) Xaica-alpha64K Security Target (ePassport configuration), reference: NTTD-STep-XAICAALPHA64KST19, version 1.20, December 6, 2007, NTTDATA
- c) Xaica-alpha64K Security Target Lite, reference: NTTD-STL-XAICAALPHA64K-ST19, Version 1.00, December 14, 2007, NTTDATA
- d) Certification Report DCSSI-2007/24 E-passport (MRTD) configuration of the Xaica-Alpha64K platform embedded on the ST19WR66I secure microcontroller, 14th of December 2007, DCSSI
- e) Xaica-alpha64K Impact Analysis of RF modification, reference: NTTD-IAR-XAICAALPHA64K-ST19, version 1.00, March 12, 2008, NTTDATA

Identification of the maintained product

The maintained product is the e-Passport (MRTD) configuration of the Xaica-Alpha64K platform developed by NTTDATA Corporation, embedded on the ST19WR66I secure microcontroller developed and manufactured by STMicroelectronics.

The maintained version of the product can be identified by the following elements:

- Reference of the platform: SPEC5 V014;
- Reference of the patch: SM2 V011;
- IC manufacturer reference of the product: PQH;
- Reference of the microcontroller: ST19WR66I.

Description of changes

In order to improve interoperability during the initialisation of the radiofrequency communication between the card and terminals, a software patch loaded in EEPROM has been developed to adapt the frame timing adjustment as for ISO14443-4 and ISO7816-4..

Impacted deliverables

[CONF]	Xaica-alpha64K - TOE Configuration List, Reference: NTTD-TCL-XAICAALPHA64K-ST19 v1.60 NTTDATA
[GUIDES]	Xaica-alpha64K - Manual for delivery, installation and Issuance of OUTSOURCE, Reference: NTTD-DIO-XAICAALPHA64K -ST19 v1.30 NTTDATA
[ST]	Xaica-alpha64K Security Target (ePassport configuration) Reference: NTTD-STep-XAICAALPHA64KST19, version 1.30, March 26, 2008 NTTDATA

MAI/F/02.1 Page 2 sur 3

Conclusions

The above listed changes are considered as having a **minor** impact.

The assurance level of this new product revision is thus identical to the certified revision.

Warning

The resistance level of a certified product is declining as time goes by. The vulnerability analysis of this product revision versus the new attacks that would have appeared since the certificate release has not been conducted in the frame of this current maintenance. Only a reevaluation or a "surveillance" of the new product revision would allow maintaining the assurance level in a timely and efficient manner.

Recognition of the certificate

European recognition (SOG-IS)

The reference certificate was issued in accordance with the provisions of the SOG-IS agreement [SOG-IS].

The European Recognition Agreement made by SOG-IS in 1999 allows recognition from Signatory States of the agreement¹, of ITSEC and Common Criteria certificates. The European recognition is applicable up to ITSEC E6 and CC EAL7 levels. The certificates that are recognized in the agreement scope are released with the following marking:



International common criteria recognition (CCRA)

The reference certificate was released in accordance with the provisions of the CCRA [CC RA].

The Common Criteria Recognition Arrangement allows the recognition, by signatory countries², of the Common Criteria certificates. The mutual recognition is applicable up to the assurance components of CC EAL4 level and also to ALC_FLR family. The certificates that are recognized in the agreement scope are released with the following marking:



This maintenance report is released in accordance with the document: « Assurance Continuity: CCRA Requirements, ref. CCIMB-2004-02-009, version 1.0, February 2004 ».

MAI/F/02.1 Page 3 sur 3

¹ The signatory countries of the SOG-IS agreement are: Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.

² The signatory countries of the CCRA arrangement are: Australia, Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Netherlands, New-Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.